Handmade with love – my first make.

Now I love crochet. But recently I’ve been learning to knit and have really enjoyed learning. I thought I would make Alice a little something to wear and here is the result!

IMG_5168IMG_5219

IMG_5218

This is a cable knit jumper using 4mm needles, 5 50g balls of double knit wool (We used Peter Pan) and a “Snuggly DK” pattern number 1813. (I got my wool and pattern from Get Knitted, Bristol – a really great friendly little shop local to me).

This took me about ten evenings of knitting to complete, but i am a complete novice and had to learn a lot of new techniques, so a more competent knitter could complete in less time I’m sure. I made it in size 6-12 months which fits fine around the tummy area but the sleeves turned out rather long, so if i were to do it again i would reduce the sleeve length to one more appropriate for Alice.

What are you guys making for your little ones at the moment? Do you have any good patterns to share?

F x

My next project is a crochet cardigan, so far i have spent one evening on it and it is near completion and looking much smarter than this cable knit jumper. For me, crochet is much easier and works up much faster! I will post the completed cardigan shortly!

7 thoughts on “Handmade with love – my first make.

Leave a Reply

